There are 8 standards which are focused on driving better consumer outcomes in aged care.

1. Consumer dignity and choice

2. Ongoing assessment and planning with consumers

3. Personal care and clinical care

4. Services and supports for daily living

5. Organisation’s service environment

6. Feedback and complaints

7. Human resources

8. Organisational governance


The resources provided on these 8 standards will enable all aged care providers to meet a base standard level of care agreed upon by the Government with consultation across the industry and consumers. In particular, Standard number 5 is the most pertinent to property developers within the aged care industry as it deals with the physical environment of these facilities.


For more information on these standards and what impact they have on aged care facilities head to the Aged Care Quality & Safety Commission website here: